Anyone Other Than Me

You have rescued me from a trail of tears.
In a world of fear
did you know that I’d be there?
Every time I speak your name
there’s a shiver that holds me close;
from a pin prick famous place
where forever forgets what we should know.
Did you think it would be anyone other than me, dear?
You’ve outlasted all my friends.
I buried roots and you dig them up
and you share with me my place.
A perfect circle– never give it up.
Did you think it would be anyone other than me, dear?
Empty bottles and hallway shoes;
you whisper close to my body hush.
‘Cause if every word could change my face
not half as much as I need your touch,
did you think it would be anyone other than me, dear?

2 Responses to “Anyone Other Than Me”

  1. Very creative and well written. You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

  2. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    You’ve charmed a stranger and me. Hopefully you know who is charmed too!

Leave a comment