Valentine’s Dog Dagurreotype

  1.  I know A LOT of people who hate Valentines Day, so it seems.  And every year, most of them feel a need to unleash an anti-V-Day screed of some kind via social media (almost always involving the word “Hallmark”, “corporate”, or “made-up”.  And hey, I get it.  In fact, I essentially ignore almost all holidays, and I’m quite fortunate that my life partner feels the same.  We don’t really hate any holidays, we just don’t really notice them (with a few exceptions).  But what I’m wondering right now, as I continue to see these same people with these same rants about these same holidays year after year after year…why not just ignore it?  Let it pass with zero comment from you.  There is little more that a holiday hates than a complete lack of attention from you, whatever holiday it happens to be that you hate.  Just a suggestion, of course.  Certainly I have lots I like to bitch about, too, but it just seems to me like bitching about a holiday is some wasted bitching.
  2. I sure love my dog.  Who doesn’t love dogs?? But I feel a very special way about Benji because I’ve been lucky enough to be brought into his life late.  Benji is 15, which is nearing the absolute oldest he can get for his breed (at the absolute most, he might live two more years but that is unlikely).  I spent almost all of my adult life wishing I could have a dog; almost all of that time, I lived alone and worked jobs with long and erratic hours and was hesitant to own a dog under those circumstances.  But, once I found my love Karla, she came not only with Boy, but with Dog, and my time with Benji has been very special.  Now, he is not without his quirks (a truly obsessive-compulsive licking thing that can literally coat an entire couch if no one is watching) but in just about every way, I could not love him more.  I’m sad that I don’t get more years with him, but the time I do have fills my heart.  Almost anyone who has a dog says “They are part of the family”, and never has anyone meant it more than we do.
  3. Here is the earliest known photograph (actually it’s a daguerreotype) taken in the city of Harrisburg.  It is from freakin’ 1860!:
    img_20170214_181755

2 Responses to “Valentine’s Dog Dagurreotype”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    Dogs steal your hearts and almost always break them. That must be the way things balance out, they’ll love you in the most unconditional way, but they will leave you much sooner than you’d want.

  2. Rrjiaiyd Says:

    In fact, Dickie Joe is fluent in the language “mash-up” known as Spanglish.
    But, for Astros fans, Luhnow’s statement is a timely reminder when one look at the calendar reveals that pitchers and catchers report some 10 dozen days from now.
    If Holliday can remain healthy, he has proven he is a solid hitter throughout his career.

    During a 15-12 loss against Oakland last season, Mack sacked Osweiler five different times and single-handedly shut down Denver?€?s offense.
     American International: 7-29-3The Yellow Jackets’ coach of 32 years, Gary Wright stepped down this off-season after another tough year.

Leave a comment