The Morning After

“Mom, wherever there’s a cop beating a guy
Wherever a hungry newborn baby cries
Where there’s a fight against the blood and hatred in the air
Look for me, Mom, I’ll be there

Wherever somebody’s fighting for a place to stand
Or a decent job or a helping hand
Wherever somebody’s struggling to be free
Look in their eyes, Ma, and you’ll see me”

–“The Ghost of Tom Joad”, Bruce Springsteen

It happened.  And there’s certainly no going back now.  Our country has changed.  It had probably changed before the election results, but now, of course, there’s no denying it.

We are a divided people, no doubt.  But we have always been.  We’ve even been more divided than this (folks who tell you this is the worst it’s ever been are the same folks who tell you to do your research, even though they’ve never read an actual book).  We are divided, but we’ll be OK.

But what Donald Trump himself might do to this country is unthinkable.  It’s not his policies or ideologies that are so terrifying.  We could survive even the most radical of a conservative.  It’s him.  What he says, does, how he acts.  His disregard for the basic foundations of our nation.  From that, there might be no coming back.

It is fully possible the election of Donald Trump signals the end of the American experiment.  He could very well set into motion forces that topple our nation.  This game is too big to survive his bluster.

I have a family now, which I love and cherish more than anything in the cosmos.  If I was still a single man, I would be speaking right now very earnestly about leaving the country.  I know that seems cliché and silly by now, but I really would.  Or, failing that idea, I might find or start some sort of anti-Trump militia–find some radical way to try to hold onto what we’ve built here.

But I must take great pains to remain an integral, present part of my family unit.  Their future is the thing I must be most concerned with.  But make no mistake: if it becomes necessary, if we are being pushed towards annihilation, you will find me in the streets.  You will find me marching toward those that would rend us asunder.  You will find me arm in arm with my brothers and sisters, and we will be holding more than signs in our hands.  You will find me in the revolution, because that’s how I will protect my family.

 

3 Responses to “The Morning After”

  1. As for me and Presidential elections – I am done. 2 of the last 5 Presidents that I have voted for have actually won. Gore and Hillary both had MORE votes than their opponents and have still lost because of our horrible “electoral college”. I am tired of my vote not counting in Presidential elections. I will only vote in them again if it is truly based on a true nationwide vote.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      I hear you. I don’t see why that can’t be done. I do get why it started that way–back in the beginning of the country most of our citizens knew very little about what was going on, in really made no sense to allow their votes to all count, “pure democracy” style. But that was a long time ago. It would actually simplify everything to just count all the votes.

      As for Trump, I’m going to have to bury my head in the sand for awhile. I don’t want to follow the news, know what he’s doing, etc. We picked the perfect time to get rid of cable.

    • Adrienne and I were saying the same thing today. And I said to her it’s hard to change because the ones to change it are the ones who were elected that way. Well, especially the President! But the Congress is elected by popular vote.

Leave a comment