Why We All Need the Cubs to Lose the World Series

First, a few points of order:

1.  When I say “we all”, I am only talking about baseball fans.  I am under no illusion this is of significant import to the wider world.

2.  I like the Chicago Cubs.

OK, now.  Here’s where I’m at.  I know we all feel for the much-ballyhooed long-suffering Cubs fans.  It’s been over a hundred years since they won a championship.  And they have always, at least within my lifetime, been a likeable team, and how can you not like Wrigley Field?  And all the mythos around their losing streak (the “curse”, the goat, Steve Bartman, etc).  The Cubs winning a championship would be HUGE.  We have ALL grown up with that storyline in baseball–everyone alive today has grown up with that being part of their baseball experience.

I vote we keep it that way.  While I feel for the Cubs fans (but really now–they’ve had plenty to enjoy from the Bulls, Blackhawks, and even the White Sox), in the quickly-evolving world of baseball, the Cubs losing streak is too powerful of a tale to give up.  It helps to connect baseball fans within our grand narrative.  The Red Sox used to have a long losing streak, and it’s now over, and with the face of baseball inevitably changing as our culture accelerates through change, let’s not lose some of the only historic stories we have.  If the Cubs are no longer perennial losers, what do we have left???

Listen, I hear you.  You think I’m being a weird contrarian.  And maybe I am.  I like this Cubs team (but I like Cleveland’s team more).  And think about this: wouldn’t it make an excruciating but undeniably delicious chapter in the Cubs’ losing streak for them to make it to the series and lose???  To Cleveland, on the same year that entire city’s losing streak was just broken by their basketball team???  This world series, I’m rooting for intense, epic historic narrative.  Plus I saw the Cleveland baseball team play when I lived in Erie :)

4 Responses to “Why We All Need the Cubs to Lose the World Series”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    Oh lordy. You’re just…

    If the Cubs win the World Series that history doesn’t go anywhere!!! People still reference the Red Sox’ long history of losing. The Curse of the Bambino, don’t pretend you’ve not heard many reference to it after not one but two Championships.

    I think I’m gonna fill a sink with salsa and dunk your head in it.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      You know what your problem is? You can’t think outside the box :P

      • sethdellinger Says:

        It’s not that I’m afraid of the history going away, or that I think we’d all forget about the Cubs long losing streak, but that the losing streak is one of the few historic baseball stories we are STILL experiencing. It’s not just history. It’s current, too. If they win, it’s just history.

        • sethdellinger Says:

          But as I said on the link on FB, I will be pleased as punch if they win, too. There is no bad result from this World Series.

Leave a comment