On Nerves

I remember
as a child
thinking about torture
(and since then I have come to understand torture is just

a clarification
of reality),

and I remember proposing
(to myself, alone, silently)
the limited susceptibility of a nerve
to abuse
(the diminishing capacity of a single nerve
to feel pain)
as proof
of some basic mercy
at the foundation of the universe.
Then, today, as I lay in bed,
my chest pressed to her back,
I hear (with my chest)
her heart beat,
how real it is,
and how separate–
how mercilessly separate,
and I wonder at the gall of nerves
to limit their susceptibility
to anything.

 

2 Responses to “On Nerves”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    Fuck, man! To write like this you deserve a new name. There’s nothing wrong with “Seth”, but an “Aristotle” seems to write things like this all the time. I don’t know what that means.

    As I was reading this I made mental notes to quote back to you certain lines from your poem that I particularly liked. As it went on more and more got added and well…I just don’t see any point in copy-pasting the entire thing here. So, scroll up. I liked that part.

Leave a comment