Robin’s Egg Blue

I’m told they’re mating now,
full of magical noise
that draws the day closed.  I wish
I knew the name
of the fat robin
who builds her nest in the eaves
so low I can almost touch her.

Last night, my body
flew to the ceiling as She
dreamed Her way inside me,
reeking of perfume.  No.  It was
day-old wine and garlic.  She’s
always eating garlic.  I know this
is not possible.  I was out of
my body.  It was my heart that
flew away to the ceiling and my
body lay in bed breathing
shallow breaths.  As a child,

I was scared of everything,
women and bird’s nests and maybe
even perfume.  Fear cannot be
good for the soul.  This cannot be
proven.  I was levitating there,
unafraid, I had no choice, but I
said yes, yes and abandoned
my body, my robin’s egg blue body,
not knowing any other way
to the light.

2 Responses to “Robin’s Egg Blue”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    I don’t dislike it, but I can’t claim to understand it. It might be outside my realm of poetic understanding. Would you care to share some insight into this? Of course if you’d prefer keeping the mystique about it though I would completely understand.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      To be sure, it is a complex poem. Generally speaking, I’m not a fan of poems that need “figured out”, but I will occasionally write some like this if I also feel that, just on the surface the images and words can evoke feelings without needing to be fully understood.

      Here, each stanza serves a separate purpose and they are inter-connected. At first I just talk about the robins. In the second stanza, I relate an experience where a woman from my past enters a dream of mine and causes an out-of-body-experience (how literal this experience is meant to be is a matter of interpretation). The third stanza is a real barnburner, where I combine the robin, the out-of-body experience, as well as fear/childhood (which is not as “out of nowhere” as it seems, as it was evoked in the “mating” of the robins mentioned in stanza one and is brought full-circle by the image of the blue robin’s egg at the end), melding all of the themes into one final image, my own prone body laying on my bed, the color of a robin’s egg.

      What does it all mean? Yes, I admit it is quite complex and I’m not about to just decode the meaning for you, although I don’t suggest its meaning NEEDS decoded.

Leave a comment