the opposite of loneliness

really, there’s just art.  immense, wide skies with cumulus clouds to the horizon, the prairie spread out in the foreground.  a poem that makes you tear up, but not really cry.  that toe-tapping song, that movie that makes you feel afraid like you did when you were ten.  shadows in the photo 8corner, a swirling dervish of a dance.  that’s really all there ever really is, just the art and some sort of meaning.

there’s not really a word for the opposite of loneliness, but that’s what I experience, all the time.  not because there are so many people around me—there are often none.  and it’s not because I don’t feel lonely; that would just be the absence of loneliness.  no, it is the opposite of loneliness, a filling-up of things, a carrying of weight, a total contentedness with the order of things.  which is not to say I am perfectly happy; I photo 4simply don’t feel a lacking in the universe.  the universe doesn’t have enough concern for little old me to make me feel lonely–there’s too much else going on.  but what I do often feel is the desire for time to stop.  I can have sickening longings for the past.  I am not afraid to grow old, nor do I wish to relive past experiences; but I miss eras, phases, periods of my life.  I miss the way your apartment smelled in the summer and I want to smell it again.  I miss when you had mice so bad I killed them by throwing phone books at them across the room—I was damn good at it.  I was like a god, those days.  I don’t want you to live in that apartment again.  that apartment was terrible and you were still doing heroin.  but it smelled so good and I killed those mice like a boss.  and then there was that time so many of us lived in like a five block radius of one another, and there were coffee shops and open mic nights and warm summer nights when the noises of different venues mixed on the streets with the smells of coffee beans and rum and cigarette smoke and Liz Claiborne perfume.  I don’t need to live it again.  good lord, I don’t need to live it again.  just let’s stop everything and smell it and look at it and grow old in that world, in that place, in that feeling.  let’s have the rings of Saturn stand still for just an epoch.  then we can start time again.  I live in the opposite of loneliness and I’d like more of it.

moonless dark country nights.  there’s a sound to it.  a cricket sound, a buzzing, a silent sheath.  the sound of the nights of my teenage years, photo 9usually accompanied by the smell of beer, loud talk, and the first Violent Femmes album, the one with Country Death Song.  nowadays I want to take pictures of everything.  I try not to but I do anyway.  I don’t know what the penalty is for allowing a beautiful moment to pass unrecorded but nobody is ever going to levy it upon me.  I wonder about things like the shape of the land, the hills, how much we made to suit our own photo 3purposes like roads and drainage and sewage and how much the earth made, how long was it like this, how did it get this way?  eventualities swirl around and around and around, and around yet.  I have very much to say about many things.  mostly I don’t say them.  often I will say two or three sentences but I know it’s more than most people want.  it is just as well.  I’m a prick with my ideas and opinions and there’s no need to spew them out entirely; the big old universe with its Saturn’s rings and open mic nights does not give one fig about what I am saying.  and so on and so on and so on.  dark country nights with their sounds and their memories and time stopping and who couldn’t be lonely in all this immensity, anyway?  it’s all so damned big and careless and spinning with no plan, so I say, so I think, if you really want to know, and the wind blows like a motherfucker and the flags are stretched out at the tops of their poles and we’re all so lonely and the opposite of lonely.

really, there’s just art.  immense, wide skies with cumulus clouds to the horizon, the prairie spread out in the foreground.  a poem that makes you tear up, but not really cry.  that toe-tapping song, that movie that makes you feel afraid like you did when you were ten.  shadows in the corner, a swirling dervish of a dance.  that’s really all there ever really is, just the art and some sort of meaning.

 

2 Responses to “the opposite of loneliness”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    Sorry I let this one pass by for so long. Reading it has put me in a mood…not a horrible one, but not something extraordinary either! Your post about a mostly unnameable feeling has produced and unnameable feeling in me. If that’s not art, I don’t know what is!

    • sethdellinger Says:

      I imagine it is much the same feeling I was having when I wrote it. Like you said, not entirely a horrible feeling…just kind of…a little too real…

Leave a comment