I’m a Kind of Portion, I Guess

I had a long conversation last night with one of my employees about demonyms.  Demonyms are the words we use to describe where we are from, that you are a person from a specific place.  For instance, Philadelphian is a demonym, and so is Israeli and Marylander.  I have always found demonyms very interesting.  They come in so many shapes and sizes, and there are no rules about how it is formed (and typically, there aren’t even official demonyms).  I first became really aware of and curious about them when I first moved to Erie, PA, and realized I had become an Erieite.  That is a helluva word!  Ever since, I have been intrigued by each place’s demonym.  You can usually guess it, but not always.  In addition, what REALLY blows my mind is that there is a demonym for everywhere.  I mean, continents have 007them…European, Asian, South American, etc.  Obviously, countries and states, too.  But you really start to slither down the rabbit hole when you think that every town has one!  Not every city, every town has it’s own demonym.  Just thinking about the people likely to be reading this blog…Dad, obviously I know you are a Newvillian.  So am I, to a degree.  Mom and Adi and Brian are Mantuans.  Kyle…what are you, a Ridgecrester?  I hope that’s what it is.  Cory K. lives in Racine, WI…that one boggles my mind.  I could look it up but I hope he reads this and tells us in the comments.  My best guess is Racineite.  But in my conversation with my employee last night, we took 012it one step further.  Sure, we were both Philadelphians, but we also lived in sections of the town that had names.  Did they, too, have demonyms?  Of course they do!  But we don’t know what they are.  He lives in Society Hill so he settled on Society Hiller, and I like Pennsportian (rhymes with portion).  I seriously could think about demonyms all damn day.

I stumbled onto something pretty interesting today.  Watch this video I made.  I don’t even make you listen to any hip music in this one:

Things I don’t understand in life include, but are not limited to: hopscotch, red licorice, the stock market, bandwidth, point spreads, football’s “secondary”, tort reform, Celsius, 12 bar blues, and the aeronautical concept of lift.  Also, unrelated,

For those with a passing interest in architecture, these apartment buildings near the Delaware River in Philly are Frank Gehry buildings.

For those with a passing interest in architecture, these apartment buildings near the Delaware River in Philly are Frank Gehry buildings.

there is a place in Maryland called Big Assawoman Bay.  It’s a bay.  Really.

Why does my phone die faster when it’s cold out?  seriously, is there someone who can explain this to me?  And why, why, does there not exist a device which is portable, with which we can charge our phones using stores solar power?  I know I am sounding like some green tree-hugger (I kinda am) but for real, I hate how when I leave the house for extended periods of time, I now have to plan where and when I’ll be charging my phone (losing the car option has changed things a tad; that was always a go-to charging area).  With these smartphones being power sieves nowadays, after an hour and a half out of the house on foot, I find myself having to conserve battery power.  Not cool, world.  Figure something better out!

I bought this mini-figurine of William Penn because I am good with money:

photo

5 Responses to “I’m a Kind of Portion, I Guess”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    Ridgecrester sounds right, but it also doesn’t sound right. “er” as a suffix for a demonym doesn’t ever sound correct to me, but I know it has to be right at least some of the time. I think President Kennedy could have been wrong too in his famous demonym.

    People that say, “Canadia” instead of “Canada” are dumb. Really dumb. Their reasoning is because if you say you’re Canadian instead of Canadan your homeland should actually be Canadia. That’s some bullshit. Perhaps this isn’t a common thing other people hear, but I don’t like it. I can only recall one person saying this ever and it was when I was in high school, but it still bugs me. Scott, you’re fucking dumb.

    Oh man, I could totally teach you about 12 bar blues! That engrained in my head for four straight years pretty much every day of Jazz band in high school. I think I have a decent understand of a defensive secondary. I feel like I would really enjoy following the stock market if I understood it, but I don’t want to be one of those guys.

  2. sethdellinger Says:

    I’ve always thought the “er” was weird, too, but it’s legit. Here’s a list of the 50 state demonyms…I count 5 that are “er”s.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_demonyms_for_U.S._states

  3. I think we’re racinians up here. I know we’re Wisconsinites, but I wish we were wisconsinians. Michiganders bugs me. I use canadia intentionally because I think it’s funny. It may not actually be funny, and I’m open to that.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      Racinians???? Interesting!!! Wisconsinians would be a crazy word. Apparently folks from Michigan can kinda choose between Michiganders and Michiganians (middle syllable is long a, like “gay”)…like I said, there are no official, sanctioned ones, and some seem to come into and out of favor over time. I think Canadia is funny, just not incredibly original.

  4. I also don’t like ‘-ites’. To me it sounds sub-human. Termites ends in ‘-ites’, for God’s sake.

Leave a comment