My 17th Favorite Song of All-Time

is:

“This is How We Do It” by Montell Jordan

I hear what you’re saying.  You are kind of confused by this one.  Well, so am I!  I have no idea why this song hits my sweet spot so much.  It’s definitely not a song I “identify” with or that means a lot to me personally.  First, it is just extremely catchy and pleasant to my ears.  But that is not usually enough to make me passionate about a song.  It is this song’s link to a very specific time period in my life (late teens) and the things that were happening, and the people I was hanging around with, and the general tenor and tone of my life at the time. These things are all wrapped up in sensory memory with this song.  I’m sure you have songs like this, too.  And although many other songs compete for the title, “This is How We Do It” reigns as the Song of My Youth.

Click here to go to the song’s Last.fm page to stream a clip of the song or watch the full-length official video.

2 Responses to “My 17th Favorite Song of All-Time”

  1. Love this song! It was a pretty big hit too. I remember my 6th grade teacher singing it in an effort to paint herself, “cool”. It never gets old though. “I’m kind of buzzed and it’s all because…”

  2. Anonymous Says:

    This song rocks! Now I must got listen to it!

Leave a comment