Jovian Space

A few months ago, my friend Duane and I decided we wanted to collaborate on some kind of video/ music/ words project.  We started exchanging various files via Skype and bouncing ideas off of each other.

A few months before that, we had discovered we shared a fascination with the planet Jupiter (and FYI, in case you don’t know, when you want to say something has the qualities of Jupiter, the word to use is Jovian).  I think it would be fair to say Duane and I have slightly different feelings about Jupiter.  Correct me if I’m wrong here Duane, but I’d say, in a word, Jupiter fills you with awe, whereas it mainly fills me with dread.

When we began exchanging files, the first thing I gravitated toward was a short piece of music Duane had made called “Jovian Space”.  I put it on my mp3 player and decided to go out into the world with it on repeat and film things while listening to it.

I Skyped a bunch of footage to Duane and we decided it might also be interesting if I wrote a poem about Jupiter and read it over the footage and the music.  Writing a poem about Jupiter turned out to be easier than I had anticipated; I just wrote about how it made me feel, how it made me feel sorrow, and lonleliness, and scared.

Duane put it all together in fine fiddle.  The end result looks like one long take of video but it actually one short take and one long take that Duane seamlessly edited together.

This is not the sort of thing that is “for everybody”; it is, undoubtedly, arty.  But it is the sort of thing I really, really dig.  I could watch stuff like this all day.

4 Responses to “Jovian Space”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    With great shame I admit that this is probably too artsy for me. That’s not to say I can’t appreciate the creativity that went into it, cuz I did, but I guess I’m not known to have a general interest in anything Jovian. Glad you’re happy with the outcome though.

    I got a chuckle when the man being filmed turned around and the quick pan away from him.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      Yeah I don’t expect any of the regular readers of this blog to really be into it. It is definitely too arty for most people, but it seemed a shame not to post it, anyway. And yeah, I love the little move at the end! For a long time I was mad at myself for not holding the camera on him, but over time I’ve come to love the little element of humor the pan-away adds to the whole thing.

  2. Great piece! Thanks for sharing!! I totally adored it!

Leave a comment