Jeremy, Where Have You Gone?

Jeremy, where have you gone?  It’s been so long.  I suppose in high school, you think you’ll know your friends forever, and I suppose that is foolish.  But Jeremy, you were a counterpoint to my soul through the roughest, most awkward young years, and then we immediately parted ways for no stated reason, never so much as a phone call ever again.

Jeremy, where have you gone?  In this day and age, we stay in touch with people we barely know, forever.  I know more about how my minor friends from middle school have turned out than I know about you, and where you are, and what you do, and how you’re doing.  It seems nobody else I know knows anything much about you, either.

Jeremy, where have you gone?  Did England break your heart?  Did you find God in a jet plane?  Does the sound of approaching thunder terrify you, or ominous rain clouds make you smile?  Are you a farmer, with overalls to your chin?  Do you have a beard?  What happened to your parents?  Do you shiver in an unheated room in the winter with a wife who loves you?  Do you wonder about me, and how I’m doing?  Do you ever feel completely alone?

6 Responses to “Jeremy, Where Have You Gone?”

  1. I was just thinking about him the other day. hope he is well

    • sethdellinger Says:

      I hear bits and pieces now and then from other people who hear bits and pieces, and the overall concensus seems to be he’s pretty OK…but the world is short on specifics.

      • is he still in this area do you know?

        • sethdellinger Says:

          Last I heard he was somewhere in PA. He had been in the Navy, stationed in England, and married a British woman, but had moved home and was somewhere in PA working some 9-to-5 kinda job. His dad died, at some point, or so I heard. This was all stuff I heard thirdhand, about 5 years ago…so really, I have no idea.

  2. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    Surely Pearl Jam’s “Jeremy” would get stuck in my head after reading this? No, instead I get Paula Cole’s “Where Have All The Cowboys Gone”. Thanks for that.

    I’d like to think that there are people out there that know where everyone they want to know about is, even if it’s just a simple social networking situation. The people that have that, are jerks. Be thankful you’re not one of them.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      Yeah, in a way, I’m glad it’s still possible to disappear, and to lose track of people. I don’t want everyone to stay in touch with everyone forever. I just wish I could be in better touch with my few best friends from HS…the other one, Brock, I have at least had sporadic contact with in the past 15 years, but none at all in at least five.

Leave a comment