My 29th Favorite Song of All-Time

is:

“White Winter Hymnal” by Fleet Foxes

Plenty of people hate Fleet Foxes; to many, they are the very definition of a “hipster” band.  I just happen to like hipster bands, so it kind of works out for me.  And “White Winter Hymnal” is pretty much the quintessential Fleet Foxes song.  And it’s haunting and simple and catchy and emotionally evocative.  Who could ask for more?  Read the simple but amazing lyrics below the video.

I was following the pack
All swallowed in their coats
With scarves of red tied ’round their throats
To keep their little heads
From fallin’ in the snow
And I turned ’round and there you go
And, Michael, you would fall
And turn the white snow red as strawberries
In the summertime…

3 Responses to “My 29th Favorite Song of All-Time”

  1. duaneeugenemiller Says:

    Awesome video. Song is cool as well but not sure I could do a whole album. This doesn’t come off as particularly “hipster” to me, but I’m no authority on what is or isn’t “hipster”. I usually refer to “hipster” as dudes in skinny jeans and fedoras that (IMO) have a really unfortunate sense of what “art” is… and generally are people I find unbearable to be around. This song does not conjure up any of those feelings:)

    • sethdellinger Says:

      True…I guess in our popular culture, there are now two kinds of “hispters”…the kind you mention, which I deplore, and this kind…they are guys with long beards who wear lots of rings and do lots of camping and always smell like clove cigarettes. THAT kind of hipster, I dig. And I even agree, even being a Fleet Foxes fan, I really have trouble listeniing to a whole album at once, although just about all their songs are pretty good.

      • duaneeugenemiller Says:

        Oh yeah, those guys. Can’t say I’m a fan of that bunch either but I find them less obnoxious. Maybe because they’re always camping and I’m never really confronted by them:) I take issue with just about anybody that is really committed to an image but I’m getting over that as I get older, and my own commitments loosen;) Regardless, very cool song.

Leave a comment