My 45th Favorite Song of All-Time

Click here to read about this list, or click here to see all previous entires on the list.

And my 45th favorite song of all-time is:

“Two-Fifty” by Chris Walla

Chris Walla is the absolute genius guitar player and indie rock producer who is the lead guitarist for Death Cab for Cutie, and who produces such heavy hitters as The Decemberists and Tegan & Sara.  He has released one solo album, Field Manual, and “Two-Fifty” is the standout track on it.  It is a song about how the Industrial Revolution has altered the role of the individual in society.  That’s right.  That’s what it’s about.  But it is a tender, reflective, subtle song, that more mourns for a loss of what once was, than is enraged by the inevitability of what has become.  The video below is a video I made and put on YouTube because it wasn’t on there any other way (and still isn’t)…the video includes the lyrics, which are crucial.  PS aren’t I clever, using the famous photo of a child worker in the Industrial Revolution before child labor laws, as the background for my video?  PSS I realize this song, which uses a video I put on YouTube myself, comes right after “Easy Money”, another video I put on YouTube myself, but it is just coincidence.

Leave a comment