My 71st Favorite Song of All-Time

is:

“Life Wasted” by Pearl Jam

One of my main “recovery anthems” (and the only one released after I got sober), “Life Wasted” as well as the band Pearl Jam in general, have played a major role in defining who I am today and how I live.  I once wrote this blog entry about how it has affected my life.

You’re always saying that there’s something wrong,
I’m starting to believe it was your plan all along.
Death came around, forced to hear its song,
and know tomorrow can’t be depended on.
I seen the home inside your head,
all locked doors and unmade beds,
open sores unattended.
Let me say just once that
I have faced it,
a life wasted.
I’m never going back again.
I escaped it,
a life wasted.
I’m never going back again.
Having tasted,
a life wasted,
I’m never going back again.

The world awaits just up the stairs.
Leave the pain for someone else.
Nothing back there for you to find,
or was it you, you left behind?
You’re always saying you’re too weak to be strong.
You’re harder on yourself than just about anyone…

Why swim the channel just to get this far?
Halfway there, why would you turn around?
Darkness comes in waves,
tell me, why invite it to stay?
You’re warm with negativity, yes, comfort is an energy,
but why let the sad song play?
I have faced it,…  A life wasted,… I’m never going back again.
Oh I escaped it,…  A life wasted,… I’m never going back again.
Having tasted,…  A life wasted,… I’m never going back again.
Oh I erased it,…  A life wasted,… I’m never going back again.

5 Responses to “My 71st Favorite Song of All-Time”

  1. Kyle Sundgren Says:

    Crimney! That was a long stretch of songs I didn’t know til we got to this one! I still remember the original post you made about this song.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      You don’t even know that Butthole Surfers song? That was a big one when I was a youngster. Maybe it’s one of those rare instances where our age difference comes into play.

      • Kyle Sundgren Says:

        I know exactly two Butthole Surfer songs, and that wasn’t one of them. They arrived on the scene when I was at an age where it was very difficult to listen to a band called Butthole Surfers.

        • sethdellinger Says:

          wow, that is…strange, to me. I was under the impression there was exactly one famous surfer song, and it was “pepper”…I wouldn’t even have any guesses as to what two songs you knew.

          • Kyle Sundgren Says:

            The two songs I know are from the ‘Dumb and Dumber’ soundtrack (“Hurdy Gurdy Man”) and from Guitar Hero II (“Who Was In My Room Last Night”).

Leave a comment