Pearl Jam Unleashes “No Way”

I had no plans to post this setlist tonight; I was going to lump the next few together to avoid filling my blog up with Pearl Jam sets, and besides, there are only 4 or 5 PJ fans still reading my blog anyway.  But then they had to go and have an amazing set.  First and most importantly, they played “No Way”, which you’ll only know how badass that is if you follow what they’re up to.  We’ve been asking for it for a loooong time.  And then, without using any more rarities, they strung together an incredible set through some genius song order, and it’s tough to impress me with song order anymore (yes, I admit I’ve read every single Pearl Jam setlist–ever).  For instance, this five song sequence to end the main set is a master stroke: Comatose–>Insignificance–>Present Tense–>Got Some–>Go.  Go ahead.  Put that sequence on your iPod.  You’ll see.  Also, that is a rather unique first encore.  And also quite notable:  there is no “Even Flow” or “Alive”, which would upset me a bit (which other hardcore “fans” are cheering the songs’ absences), but it’s quite odd for neither of them to appear.  The only thing that really bugs me about the show is the “Ledbetter” closer.  How tired am I of this?  Real tired.

Main Set:  Sometimes, Why Go, All Night, The Fixer, Dissident, Johnny Guitar, Faithfull, Lukin,  Not For You/Modern Girl, No Way, Unthought Known, Unemployable, Comatose, Insignificance, Present Tense, Got Some, Go

Encore 1: Just Breathe, The End, Black, In My Tree, Spin The Black Circle

Encore 2: Supersonic, Do The Evolotion, The Real Me, Porch, Yellow Ledbetter

Tour stats:

Openers:

Why Go (3)
Long Road (3)
Sometimes (2)
Small Town (1)
Release (1)
Of the Girl (1)
Hard to Imagine (1)

Main Set Closers:

Do the Evolution (2)
Alive (2)
Go (2)
Got Some (1)
Rearviewmirror (1)
Blood (1)
Spin the Black Circle (1)
MFC (1)
Life Wasted (1)

Closers:

Yellow Ledbetter (7)
Indifference (1)
Rockin’ in the Free World (2)
Fuckin’ Up (1)
Alive (1)

Click here to see the poster.  It’s rad!

A video of tonight’s “No Way” isn’t up yet, but here’s the last time it was played, in 1998:

5 Responses to “Pearl Jam Unleashes “No Way””

  1. Johnny Guitar–>Faithfull–>Lukin–>Not For You–>No Way.

    Fuck.

  2. Evenflow are Alive are traditions man! That’s like Jimmy Buffet not playing Margaritaville!

    Ledbetter is tired, but I prefer it over RITFW.

    I’m more impressed with the first encore. I would love to see that group of songs.

    • sethdellinger Says:

      Alive gets skipped pretty regularly, but E-Flow makes it to about 95% of shows, and I don’t think I’ve seen them BOTH skipped in quite a few tours. If you’re gonna skip both, you gotta give us a “Jeremy”!

      I love the RITFW closer. Really leaves me feeling elated. At this point I could leave during Ledbetter and feel OK about it.

      Yeah, that first encore is really unique.

  3. I have trouble even imagining In My Tree into StBC…strange but I like it!!!

  4. sethdellinger Says:

    Holy crap I just realized there’s no “Corduroy” either!!!

Leave a comment